Executive Advisory Council

About the Council

The genesis of the Council is the profound changes in the industry - a paradigm shift both in terms of technology and methodology. The questions regarding the impact on business value and what sort of deliverables are required is the main conversation of the BBF's Executive Advisory Council.

Formed in 2017 and first envisaged in our special meeting in Atlanta in 2016, the Council was formed in a period of a rapid evolution with the Forum putting an increasing focus on software and working with open source projects, implementing new IPR protected source code repositories for YANG models, collaborative tools, streamlined development and a new continuous integration platform.

This is helping to deliver on the Broadband Forum’s Broadband 20/20 vision, which focuses on specific new broadband home and business opportunities that leverage SDN, NFV, the IoT and ultra-fast technologies. The initial discussions with the Advisory Council's experienced and knowledgeable team will address this new direction as a priority.

Gavin Young, Head of Fixed Access at Vodafone
 “Vodafone is delighted to be part of the Advisory Council. With the rise of open source communities, new disruptive technologies and the rapid pace the broadband industry is evolving at, organizations working together like this is more important than ever.”
Kevin Foster, Chairman of the Broadband Forum
 “Establishing the Executive Advisory Council is an important step forward for the Broadband Forum. The Board has always sought advice from senior executives. In a time of rapid change in the broadband industry this feedback is invaluable and so formalizing this arrangement is a logical step for us to take and I am delighted to have access to the collective wisdom of such an august group.”

Council Members

The initial list of executive members of the Broadband Forum’s Advisory Council include:

 Bill Walker, Director of Network Architecture – SDN, NFV, and Cloud at CenturyLink Guru Paralkar, Executive Director of ON.Lab and CORD Project board member Michael Dargue, Principal Consultant at Cartesian
 David Eckard, Fixed Networks CTO at Nokia Heather Kirksey, Director of the OPNFV Robert Balsamo, VP Advanced Technology at Calix
 Didier Boivin, Marketing Vice President, Corporate Board Member, at Metanoia Communications Jesus Martin, Director of Standards, Telefonica Robert Qi, Chief Strategy Officer, Network Solutions, at Huawei
 Don Clarke, Principal Architect, Network Technologies, at CableLabs Jim Crammond, Senior Director, Connected Home Division, at Intel Xiongyan Tang, Chief Technologist of China Unicom
 Gavin Young, Head of Fixed Access at Vodafone Kevin Schneider, Chief Scientist at ADTRAN