BBF Awards

The BBF recognizes the outstanding contributions of those who have shaped the growth of Broadband, worldwide

AwardRetirement basedLeadership basedVolume of work basedMilestone contribution basedInduction or Multiple opportunity award
Distinguised FellowXXXInduction
Circle of ExcellenceXXXInduction
Outstanding ContributorXXCan win multiple years
One Time Special RecognitionOne Time

For criteria to vote, please visit the wiki (log-in required)

Distinguished Fellow Award

The Distinguished Fellow title is bestowed by the Broadband Forum to exceptional individuals who have over time provided a major influence on the direction and success of broadband development. Individuals who attain this honor and are recognized as BBF Distinguished Fellows are the key individuals who help the Forum break into new areas of technology, and whose vision continues to inspire our industry’s growth.


2020Kevin Foster, BT

Jason Walls, QA Cafe

2019Tim Carey, Nokia
2018Lincoln Lavoie, UNH-IOL
2017Barbara Stark, AT&T

Michael Shaffer, Nokia

2015Les Brown, Huawei Technologies
2014George Debrowski, Huawei Technologies
2013David Thorne, BT

David Sinicrope, Ericsson


Circle of Excellence

The Broadband Forum recognizes the exceptional contributions achieved through the “Circle of Excellence” award, which is awarded at our annual meetings. Individuals are inducted into the Circle of Excellence as a one-time achievement, determined by nomination and awarded to a select few who have consistently exhibited leadership, diligence, and provided contributions that are foremost in advancing the Forum’s mission.

2020Kenneth Wan, Nokia
2019Marco Spini, Huawei Technologies

Ning Zong, Huawei Technologies

2018Bruno Cornaglia, Vodafone

Marcos Martinez, Maxlinear


2017Joey Boyd, ADTRAN

David Minodier, Orange

2015Martin Casey, Calix Networks

Diane Patton, Cisco Systems

Hongyu Li, Huawei Technologies

Scott Mansfield, Ericsson

2014Jaume Rius I Riu, Ericsson

Timothy Carey, Alcatel-Lucent

Roberto Carnero Ros, Ericsson

Ken Kerpez, ASSIA Inc.

Balazs Varga, Ericsson

2013Michael Langhammer, Deutsche Telekom

Tim Sheehan, UNH IOL

Vincent Buchoux, LAN


Outstanding Contributor Award

Once a year, at the annual meeting, the Outstanding Contributor awards are given to individuals who, during the previous year, went above and beyond the call of duty within the Forum work areas by making many contributions throughout the year as well as effectively moving the consensus process forward. Both the quantity and quality of the contributions are taken into consideration.

2020Daniel Egger, Axiros

Robert Peschi, Nokia

Jonathan Newton, Vodafone

Tim Carey, Nokia

Hugh Singleton, BT

2019Ken Ko, ADTRAN

Tim Spets, Greenwave Systems

Vincent Buchoux, LAN

Stephane Bryant, MT2

Kota Asaka, NTT

Herman Verbueken, Nokia

Dean Cheng, Huawei Technologies

Mauro Tilocca, TIM

Kenneth Wan, Nokia

2018Nick Hancock, ADTRAN

Yuanlong Jiang, Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd.

Georgs Karagiannis, Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd

Ludwig Pauwels, Nokia

Marco Spini, Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd.

2017Marta Seda, Calix

Marcos Martinez, Marvell

Guiu Fabregas, Nokia

Ron Insler, RAD

Denis Khotimsky, Verizon

2016Klaus Wich, Axiros

Les Humphrey, BT

Rao Cherukuri, Juniper

Ken Schneider, Telebyte

Bruno Cornagli, Vodafone

2015Ken Ko, ADTRAN

Ken Kerpez, ASSIA

David Thorne, BT

Martin Casey, Calix Networks

Diane Patton, Cisco Systems

Jinwei Xia, Huawei Technologies

2014Stefano Galli, ASSIA

William Lupton, Cisco

Diane Patton, Cisco

Yves Hertoghs, Cisco

Dean Cheng, Huawei Technologies

Frederic Klamm, Orange


2013Timothy Carey, Alcatel-Lucent

Konstantin Livanos, Alcatel-Lucent

Christoper Croot, BT

Roberto David Carnero Ros, Ericsson

Rao Cherukuri, Juniper Networks

Vincent Buchoux, LAN

Aleksandra Kozarev, Lantiq